3. Arrivo di un musicista viaggiatore

The visitor turns out to be a travelling musician. He plays the tuba and starts a duet with Fra Mauro. The music is a rearrangement of Merçe o morte, a 'ballata piccola' by the Flemish Ars Nova composer Johannes Ciconia.

4. Le testimonianze di Luigi Nono

The timelessness, referred to by Fra Mauro, becomes reality, as we make an unexpected jump in time. It is 1990, and the travelling musician - as is revealed now - is the Venetian composer Luigi Nono, who has come to San Michele for his final resting place. Like his predecessors he has brought along his testimonies, reports of his travels and discoveries, which however do not relate to the world of geography, but to that of music. Luigi Nono does not use words, but sounds. His motto is 'no hay caminos, hay que caminar': there is no pathway, there is only travelling itself. The piece concludes with an elegy for tuba and ensemble. Fra Mauro listens in silence.

* * * * * * * * * * *

The text of part 2 (Le meditazioni di Fra Mauro) is taken from the novel
A Mapmaker's Dream by James Cowan
compiled and adapted by the composer

This movement has to be spoken in the language shared by the majority of the audience.